exo universe

EXO tops real-time charts anew with release of winter album ‘Universe’

With the release of their new winter album, ‘Universe’, on December 26, EXO has once again proven their artistry as they top real-time music charts in Korea less than 24 hours after the album’s release.

Featuring the title track of the same name, ‘Universe’ instantly took the top spot in music charts Melon, Genie, Bugs, and Olleh Music.

The ballad speaks of a person who would willingly search the universe to find a lost lover. It was composed by Shin Hyuk, MRey, JJ Evans, and Jeff Lewis from Joombas. Shin Hyuk is also the composer behind EXO’s hit song, “Growl”. The lyrics were written by Yoon Sarah, who also wrote the words to “Miracles in December”.

As of December 27 at 8 AM KST, ‘Universe’ hit No. 1 on the iTunes Album charts in 23 countries, and was in the Top 10 in 10 other countries.

The group also earned praises from netizens for the gender-neutral lyrics that are dominant in all the songs in the album. Fans have noticed that the songs used “me’’ and “you” to refer to someone instead of “he” and “she”.

Other tracks in the album include “Been Through,” “Stay,” “Fall,” “Good Night,” and “Lights Out”.

‘Universe’ was initially slated for release on December 21, but was postponed to a later date in lieu of the passing of SHINee member and fellow SM Entertainment artist, Jonghyun.

Fun Fact: The Maknae is the youngest member of the band.

More Stories
BigBang’s Seungri celebrates his birthday by making donations and doing volunteer work