fromis9 members profile


Fromis 9, also stylized as fromis_9 and stands for From Idol School, is a South Korean girl group formed by CJ E&M through the reality program Idol School in 2017. Pronounced as “promise” in Korean, the group was named as such “to keep their promise to be the best girl group.” Fromis 9 is composed of nine members – Roh Ji Sun, Song Ha Young, Lee Sae Rom, Lee Chae Young, Lee Na Gyung, Park Ji Won, Lee Seo Yeon, Baek Ji Heon, and Jang Gyu Ri.

The group officially debuted on January 24, 2018 under Stone Music Entertainment with the release of their first extended play (EP), To. Heart.

2017: Pre-debut and formation

In March 2017, Mnet first announced that the producers of the shows Sixteen and Produce 101 will be launching a new reality survival program called Idol School to form a new girl group. The show aired from July 13 to September 29, 2017 with finalists Roh Ji Sun, Song Ha Young, Lee Sae Rom, Lee Chae Young, Lee Na Gyung, Park Ji Won, Lee Seo Yeon, Baek Ji Heon, and Jang Gyu Ri all making it to the final lineup of Fromis. The final lineup was solely decided through live and online votes of viewers within the duration of the show.

Following their formation, Pledis Entertainment, led by CEO Han Sung Soo, managed the group’s training leading to their official debut.

On October 19, Fromis starred in their reality program titled Fromis’ Room, which focused on the members’ journey towards their debut. The show followed the format of a simulcast, where it combined pre-recorded materials and replays of Facebook Live broadcasts in the girls’ dorm.

On November 23, the group’s name was changed to Fromis 9, with the “9” referring to the nine “students” who graduated from Idol School.

On November 29, they performed their pre-debut single “Glass Shoes” at the 2017 Mnet Asian Music Awards in Japan. It was then released as a digital single the following day. And on the December 15 episode of KBS’ Music Bank, Fromis 9 made their first ever music show appearance.

2018: Official debut

Fromis 9 officially debuted on January 24, 2018 with the release of their first EP, To. Heart, featuring the lead single of the same name.

On May 10, it was confirmed that member Jang Gyu Ri was one of the contestants of Mnet’s Produce 48 in an appearance on M! Countdown alongside fellow Idol School contestants Bae Eun Yeon, Lee Si An, and Jo Yuri.

With Jang Gyu Ri currently being unable to promote with the group, Fromis 9 continued with their activities and promotions as an eight-member group. They released their second EP, To. Day, on June 5, featuring the title track “DKDK”.

Fromis_9 moves to a new agency with IZ*ONE

On September 21, Off The Record Entertainment released an official statement, saying they will officially be in charge of the management of project group IZ*ONE as well as fromis_9.

IZ*ONE was originally managed by Pledis Entertainment, which also houses groups NU’EST, SEVENTEEN and PRISTIN, while fromis_9 was previously managed by Stone Music Entertainment.

IZ*ONE is formed by a total of 12 members (9 Korean and 3 Japanese) who are finalists of the recently concluded Mnet survival reality program Produce 48. The group is set to officially make their debut on October 29, 2018. Fromis_9, on the other hand, is an all-female group composed of nine members. Their last comeback was in June 2018 with the release of the single “To Day”.

Notable Reaction Videos

Fun Fact: The Maknae is the youngest member of the band.