G-Dragon, EXO lead winners of Korea’s ‘2017 Instagram Awards’

For the first time this year, Instagram’s affiliate in South Korea held the ‘Instagram Awards’ to recognize the platform’s most-loved and recognized users.

Leading the list of winners is BigBang’s leader and international sensation G-Dragon who was given the ‘2017 Most-Loved Instagram Award’ for having the account with the most number of likes and comments in posts shared within the year.

Another major category is the ‘Top 5 Accounts’, with G-Dragon again leading the pack with a total of 15.2 million followers as of this writing. Joining him in the Top 5 are EXO members Chanyeol (12.8 million), Sehun (11.7 million), and Baekhyun (11.3 million), and SNSD’s leader, Taeyeon (10.7 million).

Ranked 6th to 10th, meanwhile, are actors Lee Jong Suk (11.1 million) and Nam Joo Hyuk (8.8 million), BigBang members T.O.P (8.4 million) and Taeyang (8.2 million) at 8th and 9th, and actress Lee Sung Kyung (7.7 million), respectively.

Receiving the ‘Most Grown Award’ is JBJ member Kwon Hyun Bin who registered the highest growth rate in 2017, while EXO’s Chanyeol gets the award for the ‘Photo with the Most Likes’ as well as the ‘Video with the Most Likes’. The award-winning photo was shared by the rapper on May which showed all EXO members celebrating their leader Suho’s birthday over dinner. Meanwhile, the video which received more than 1.9 million likes shows Chanyeol playing with a rabbit filter.

Other artists with the ‘Most-Watched Instagram Stories’ are SNSD’s Taeyeon, former SNSD member Jessica, singer-rapper Jessi, former SNSD member Sooyoung, and rapper Dok2.

All winners will be given trophies in the shape of the Instagram logo.

Disclaimer: This article only lists the winners as they were announced by Instagram Korea. We have no knowledge as to why Lee Jong Suk placed 6th despite currently having more followers than SNSD’s Taeyeon, who made it to the list of Top 5 accounts.

Links to awardees’ Instagram accounts:

Sehun – https://www.instagram.com/oohsehun/

Taeyeon – https://www.instagram.com/taeyeon_ss/

Lee Jong Suk – https://www.instagram.com/jongsuk0206/

Nam Joo Hyuk – https://www.instagram.com/skawngur/

T.O.P. – https://www.instagram.com/choi_seung_hyun_tttop/

Taeyang – https://www.instagram.com/__youngbae__/

Lee Sung Kyung – https://www.instagram.com/heybiblee/

Kwon Hyun Bin – https://www.instagram.com/komurola/

Jessica – https://www.instagram.com/jessica.syj/

Jessi – https://www.instagram.com/jessicah_o/

Sooyoung – https://www.instagram.com/hotsootuff/

Dok2 – https://www.instagram.com/dok2gonzo/

Fun Fact: The Maknae is the youngest member of the band.

More Stories
LOOK: Eric Nam Throws A Party In “Congratulations” MV